Learn how to prevent your Credentials ( i.e., email-ids, passwords, mobile numbers, credit-card numbers, etc. ) from being theft while using Internet in Public Internet Cafes or at public places like Colleges, Offices etc. !

Many of us or even all of us, sometimes in hurry, do certain common mistakes while using Internet at public places, which may cost us heavily and cause financial losses as well.

DON'T GO AWAY

Yes, don't go away or don't take it lightly, even you think that you have never committed such mistakes or you never use intenet at public places. Many people like your friends, you neighbourers may access to your own Personal Computer. If you still think that your data is safe, then consider following few problems which people face ;-

  • Recieving unwanted e-mails, calls or facing unwanted changes in your e-mail A/c's settings like themes changed in Orkut, unknown friends added in your friends list without your permission or irrelevent mails shooted from your e-mail A/c to others without your permission.
  • Not able to log into your E-mail A/c, even though you had successfully used & logged out of your E-mail A/c previously or even though the password & username you entered are correct, like the message shown below in Picture ;-


The obvious reasons of such problems are ;-

  1. Your password & username theft & your E-mail A/c hacked.
  2. Your Resume / CV, which you might have downloaded on cafe's computer's desktop or disk, either you forgotten to delete it or it is partially deleted ( the term "partially deleted" have been explained in the following paragraphs ). Remember, your Resume / CV carries the most important informations / data.
  3. When you logged into your E-mail A/c, you, by mistake or in hurry, clicked "Yes" on the section "REMEMBER ME ON THIS COMPUTER", like the messages below ;-


These were few examples of what can happen to your data, E-mail A/cs, if you don't be carefull while using Internet, but all such things can be avoided if you take necessary precautions given here-in-below.

Precautions ;-

  • Make sure that the Check box for "REMEMBER ME ON THIS COMPUTER" is UNCHECKED or not carrying Symbol √ i.e. Check Mark). If it is already carrying √ mark (Check Mark), unmark or untick it first before you Sign in. See a Video example ;-
  • Remember one most important thing, if you download your RESUME on the Computer's disk, delete it completely from computer while leaving the Computer by using following methods ;-
  1. Select your RESUME.
  2. Press "Shift+Delete" keys together instead of only Delete Key.
  3. Click on "YES" to completely delete it.

OR

  1. Select your RESUME > right click on it.
  2. Click on "Delete".
  3. Go to Recycle Bin on the Desktop > right click on it.
  4. Empty Recycle Bin > Click on "Yes".
  • Remember another important thing, if you use only "Delete" key to remove your documents (i.e. Resume, Pictures, etc.) from Computer's disk, your documents will be shifted to Recycle Bin & from there it can be restored again & can be viewed by anyone. It means your documents are not completely but deleted partially. So, make sure that you use any of the correct method listed above to delete your documents & be safe.
  • Refer a Video example ;-
  • Remember, if you use MOZILLA FIREFOX as your Web Browser, don,t close entire Window / Mozilla Firefox by using "Alt+F4" keys or by clicking on "CROSS" button given at the extreme right-top in "RED COLOUR". If you do such mistake then remember, don't click on Save & Quit otherwise your entire E-mail A/cs or other necessary A/cs, which were previously in use, will be "RESTORED" again next time when any user use Mozilla Firefox for Internet. To avoid such troubles use following Methods ;-
  1. Sign Out each and every A/c, you were using & then close Web Browser.
  • If you, by mistake, click on "YES" button on "REMEMBER ME ON THIS COMPUTER" dialog box, then don't worry, we have a solution. Just follow few simple Steps ;-
  1. Open Internet Explorer.
  2. Go to Tools in the top Menu bar.
  3. Click on Internet Options > Content & then click on Auto Complete.
  4. Click on Clear Forms ( to clear all previously saved form entries )> OK.
  5. Click on Clear Passwords ( to clear all previously saved Passwords> OK.
  • You can adjust Auto Complete settings under Auto Complete from Tools ( in top Menu Bar ) > Internet Options > Contents > Auto Complete, for any of the following items :-
  1. Web Addresses.
  2. Forms.
  3. User names and passwords on forms.
  • You can also disable "Prompt me to Save Passwords" so that you will never be asked to save Passwords in future. Hence avoid chances of Mistakes.
  • If, you are using Mozilla Firefox Web Browsers instead of Internet Explorer, then use following procedure :-
  1. Open Mozilla Firefox Web Browser.
  2. Go to Tools in the top Menu bar.
  3. Click on Clear Private Data.
  4. You can select all or some of the options listed there (e.g., Browsing History, Saved Forms & Search Histories, Authenticated Sessions, etc.)
  5. Click on Clear Private Data ( to clear all previously saved Passwords, browsing history, previous Sessions ) > & then press OK.
  • You can also enable "Always clear my private data when I close Firefox" so that your data will never be remembered by the Web Browser at the end of any session. Hence avoid chances of Mistakes. Just follow few simple Steps ;-
  1. Open Mozilla Firefox.
  2. Go to Tools in the top Menu bar.
  3. Click on Options.
  4. Click on Privacy Tab at top. ( to clear all previously saved form entries )> OK.
  5. Click on Check Box for "Always clear my private data when I close Firefox" > & then press OK.

Other useful & some interesting tips related to Web Browsers, which users can try ;-

To reset Internet Explorer settings ;-

  • If you installed another Web browser after installing Internet Explorer and Internet Tools, some of your Internet Explorer settings may have changed. You can reset your Internet Explorer settings to their original defaults, including your home page and search pages, and choice of default browser, without changing your other browser's settings.
  1. On the Tools menu, click Internet Options.
  2. Click the Programs tab.
  3. Click the Reset Web Settings button.

To specify Web sites that others can always or never see ;-

  1. In Control Panel, open Internet Options.
  2. On the Content tab, under Content Advisor, click Enable.
  3. If you've already enabled Content Advisor, click Settings, and then type the supervisor password.
Click the Approved Sites tab, type the Internet address (URL) of a Web site, and then choose whether you want others to always or never have access to this site. Repeat this process for each Web site that you want to set access for.
No posts.
No posts.